The bird and the bee…uh I meant wasp!

A bird came to me this morning and landed on a protruding twig that stuck out from a young neem tree just a few feet away from me.


As I proceeded to observe her more keenly I asked the Universe, “What is she here to teach me?

She observed her environment for a split second and proceeded to clean her beak. She took split second breaks to be in tune with her environment as she got the job done.

I got distracted from her immaculate cleaning by a wasp floating around me, a little too close for comfort. I stared at it as it was oblivious to my presence, keenly focusing on the flowering plants nearby and as it floated higher I got the answer to my question that I asked earlier.

The bird represented love and the wasp fear. Not literally, but of course as I examined my reaction to them, that was the truth.

Even though we have love in front of us, we spend more time focusing on fear, in the hope that by giving attention to it, we will be alert. Prepared. Ready to protect ourselves in case we become a victim to its fury.

And what does the Law of Attraction do? Match our experiences to the thing we give attention to. We create our own self-fulfilling prophecies.

In an instant, I chose love. 

Then the bird proceeded to the next step. Self-grooming. She primed her feathers as she basked in the comfort of her surroundings. She felt safe, secure and quite sure of herself. She was loving herself as she became one with nature.

What do you consciously choose to place your attention on today?

Leave a comment